Lucky Streak!

I needed a bit of a sewing break after speeding through all my sewing for the Gingham-a-long so I closed the door on my little sewing space and waited for the creative urge to grab me again. Everyone who took part in Did You Make That’s sew-a-long really did a fantastic job and there were some brilliant creations, most definitely a world away from the school uniform that gingham is always so closely associated with.

On Thursday Karen posted a little video of her drawing the winner from all the names in a hat and through some crazy streak of luck it was little old me! Having already won the fabulous fabric in the giveaway at the start this was a real surprise. Now to put any curious minds at rest Karen and I do not know each other and this was in no way a fix but I knew I wanted to share the winning goodies with the other entrants and quickly jotted down the list of prizes, splitting them up and Karen hastily drew another winner.

I’m not someone who finds a lot of luck comes her way. I work hard as a single mum of two but the sewing community is an inclusive and friendly one and to share such brilliant prizes was the best thing to do.

So what next? Well Autumn is definitely here so warmer, snuggly clothing is high on the agenda. I’m thinking of soft jersey, warm pyjamas and cosy scarves. I still have a second Scout tee on my table to finish and then will be making up a little denim pinafore for my girl. After those I’m thinking of long tunics and tights so will be hunting out a pattern for something for casual and everyday wear. Perhaps the Esme tunic from Lotta Jansdotter’s Everyday Style?fullsizerender

And now my boy is in full time school I should find myself with a little more time on my hands and have been thinking about how best to use it. There are billions of planners and day books out there for helping to organise your time and be more productive but most cost a pretty penny too so with a little research perhaps I can come up with something that will work for me and my two. I already have a printed monthly calendar pinned to my fridge (free printable from landeelu.com) but that doesn’t cover the day to day. I want to make sure J gets some one on one time to look at his school reading books or practice his writing and I’m thinking about maybe a swimming class for me and B. So maybe I need a plan to factor in all the things that need doing each week, cleaning, laundry, food shopping etc and finding the time to sew or connect with anyone out there reading this. What would be on your weekly list? Do you use a planner?

fullsizerender-1

Finally, September has been the month of #SewPhotoHop, a creative daily picture challenge over on Instagram. Hosted by House of Pinheiro, there is a theme each day and you can get involved as much or as little as you want. At first glance I picked out 5 themes to join in with but have found myself joining in more and more as the month has gone on. There is so much to see and learn from this fantastically inspiring community so I really would recommend checking it out if you haven’t already.

Leave a Reply

