Gingham-a-long!

I am now about half way into my planned makes for the #Ginghamalong started by Karen over at Did you Make That.

My first was a Scout Tee (pattern from Grainline Studios). After a few less than perfect first tries with other patterns I did make a muslin first and it fit perfectly so I rushed right in and cut it out of the Cotton and Steele Gingham. This fabric is divine, almost has the feel of a flannel and you just know it will get softer and softer with each wear. I’m so happy with this shirt and have no doubt it will be one of my staple pieces going into Autumn.  I have another two planned so once I’m finished gingham-ing I’ll be getting straight to them.
img_3395

With a bit of thinking and careful cutting I managed to get a second top from my two metres of the blue gingham. I made up another Gemma Tank (from Made by Rae). This is another straightforward pattern but again I made a muslin first and was glad that I had. After switching to a bigger size and moving the bust dart a little I am much happier with the fit. I can certainly see this as another staple but the best weather is likely behind us now so I’ll save it until next year. It’s very similar to the Willow tank pattern but with thinner straps and an option of necklines along with a shirttail hem. I’m really pleased with the bottom hem on this one. I’ve struggled with curved hems so I sewed a quarter inch guideline and used that to turn the hem. It is given me a much neater and even hem so I’ll definitely try that again in future.

img_3410

On the sewing desk now is another dress for my girl. I am using the Story Blue gingham to make her a dress. It’s all cut out and ready to go and with my boy now in school each morning I should be able to start sewing it up in the next few days. The Ice Cream Dress pattern is a lovely one from Oliver and S. The pattern is a little more on the pricey side but with sizes up to age 4 I think i’ll get my use from it. Hope it turns out as nice as it looks in my head.

You’d think with all these gingham pieces I’d be seeing squares by now, but being lucky enough to win the fabric I feel I should make best use of it so I have one or two accessories planned to finish things off. Fingers crossed I can get them all sewn up before the #ginghamalong ends on 13th September.

 

3 thoughts on “Gingham-a-long!

Leave a Reply

