I’m a Winner!

Like many sewers I follow quite a few sewing blogs and often check what others are sewing through Instagram. I can get lost for hours browsing fabrics, patterns and other sewer’s makes. I love how different choices of fabric can result in vastly different pieces of clothing even when the same pattern is being used. So many interpretations or hacks, there is so much to see and learn from!

So it was while browsing I stumbled across the brilliant idea of a #ginghamalong from Karen of Did You Make That. A challenge to sew something, anything from Gingham! Well sounded like fun to me, even better Karen was offering two lucky blog readers the chance to win some gingham to get sewing with. It’s not a fabric I would usually buy, but when I saw the amazing new Checkers range from Cotton and Steel I was sold, I added my comment and by some stroke of luck I won! 3 fabulous meters! It made my day! And with 3m I’m hoping that with a bit of careful planning I’ll be able to make something for myself as well as J & B.  So I’m thinking a nice simple tshirt for myself – I wasn’t thrilled with the Lou Box Top pattern, it didn’t fit well on me so this time I’m going for the Scout Tee from Grainline Studios.  For B I have 3 different dresses in mind, so it might be a pinafore, another Geranium or maybe an Ice Cream Dress. I find sewing for boys more tricky so for J it might be a simple pair of shorts or pj trousers for the winter time.

Since winning I have been sewing up a storm. I have pulled out some of my favourite fabrics and got to work! In the last few days I have made B two tunics and a pinafore dress, I have cut out a mini project which will be a gift for a friend, and I have downloaded a few new patterns which I will be taking to the copy shop tomorrow to have printed up. I love that you can buy a pattern and have it printed locally full size and get straight to work – ah the possibilities are endless!

Of course this is also helping me to improve my skills and I am beginning to wonder if I might actually be able to make a living from my sewing once the kids are in full time school. It’s certainly worth exploring in a bit more depth. But for now, I will get my gingham on and sew up a storm. Why not check back and see what I manage to create!

Gingham2

One thought on “I’m a Winner!

  1. Congratulations!! And loving the clothing you’ve made with it…..gingham can sometimes bring back the worst of school-day memories but these could never be mistaken for anything but pretty! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

