Blair Batwing

The first make of my 12in12 challenge was the Blair Batwing shirt by Named Clothing. A straightforward easy wearing t-shirt. At €7 for the pattern download (£5.36 according to Paypal) it was a no brainer as it’s a style that I can see me making over and over in different fabrics and being very comfortable to wear.

The pdf was very simple to put together and I had the fabric cut out in an afternoon. The kids then took over so I had to leave the sewing for another day. I picked it up again later in the week and despite intending to sew on the overlocker I ended up using a stretch stitch on the sewing machine. I think the knit fabric I used was a little too thick and it has taken away some of the drape but given current temperatures I’m grateful for the extra warmth! IMG_0739

I only made one adjustment and that was to add a hem band rather than simply doing a double turned hem. When trying it on I felt it was a little short for me but I can easily adjust this next time.

IMG_0743

Overall, I’m pleased. January’s item complete before the end of the month so I’m on track so far. Before I move on to choosing February’s piece I might just find the time to squeeze in a quick infinity scarf with this fab Riley Blake Lobster knit I picked up at here at Patch Fabrics. With today’s freezing temperatures I could use this right now! And for my next project –  I love the Ella vest top by Liola Patterns but it’s not quite the season for vests right now so maybe the Lou Box Top by Sew DIY? Choices choices! Anything you’d recommend?

Leave a Reply

